Ophthalmology at OT&P
Perfecting sight, enhancing vision.
Urology at OT&P
Leading the way in urological health.
Cardiology at OT&P
Guarding hearts, enhancing lives.
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

What Are the Different Types of Imaging Tests? 

Imaging tests can offer information about a specific area or function of the body.

Imaging tests are procedures used to view the human body to diagnose and monitor medical conditions. Each type of technology provides different information about the body area related to possible disease, injury, or the effectiveness of medical treatment[1]. The various imaging tests are[2]:


  1. X-rays
  2. Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  3. Computed tomography (CT)
  4. Positron emission tomography (PET)
  5. Ultrasound
  6. Mammography
  7. Bone Densitometry (DEXA)


Imaging tests are essential to confirming, assessing, and documenting the course of many diseases and assessing the responses to medical treatment. They are crucial in different medical settings and at all levels of health care. Most imaging tests are painless, relatively safe, and non-invasive. There are some risks of using radiation in imaging tests.

  1. Center for Devices and Radiological Health. (n.d.). Medical imaging. U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

  2. Medical imaging. Physiopedia. (n.d.). 

Please note that all medical articles featured on our website have been reviewed by qualified healthcare doctors. The articles are for general information only and are not medical opinions nor should the contents be used to replace the need for a personal consultation with a qualified medical professional on the reader's medical condition.

Explore integrative health & wellness solutions